Mindfulness

It’s been a while since I’ve written. Anything.

I’ve been trying to be more mindful the last month by trying being away from the computer, put my phone down more often (ok, clearly I still always have it on me and take tons of pictures but I’m trying not to endless scroll thorough feeds) and sometimes, sometimes, even just sit. Gasp! And man oh man is it hard.

20140531_133542-2

Life was feeling too out of control – all was well and good, but everything was just too busy. Including my brain and it was starting to hurt.

Home has been fantastic; Jonathan has been rockin’ it at school, daycare and home (mostly). There’s a new consistency in his behaviour and he’s been super happy. Anthony is also doing well and Gord and I are both doing things we love outside of work like gardening and playing music. We’ve also started meeting with an ASL tutor and I’m becoming more involved with a local organization that supports families who have experienced hearing loss and deafness.

20140528_182827-2

Throw in some nice weather and you’ve suddenly also got parks to visit and hikes to do and a yard to take care of and flowers to water and cars to wash and bikes to ride…and then before you know it, the day is done.

Work has also been fantastic; I’ve been facing fears and doing presentations, attending amazing conferences and doing lots of great program planning. But it’s busy and brain consuming.

There’s so much goodness happening right now, yet not enough time for everything, somethings have needed to be sacrificed; like a clean house and swapping dressers for laundry baskets (it just never seems to make it from the basket to the drawers anymore and I gotta say it’s so much more efficient to cut out the middle man). And writing. And although I have let the first two go pretty easily I’ve missed writing. I’ve missed my little adoption community.

I’ve been trying everyday to just sit and let my mind wander. Which I gotta tell ya is real tricky. I’m happy with myself if I can do it for just a couple of minutes. To be able to sit and not be on my phone, make a to do list, talk to or think about Jonathan or anything else. Just be. Be conscious of my breathing, what I see and what I hear. I must say I’m not very good at it but I’m trying.

The next couple of months show no sign of slowing down as we plan to pack in as much summer as we can. We have lots of visitors heading our way, summer camps, new routines, hikes to do and beautiful weather to enjoy. I hope, however, with these busy summer days also come a more laid back pace and more writing. And sitting. And just being.

20140606_153306

3 thoughts on “Mindfulness

  1. I smiled reading this because I’m trying to do the same. Suffering from exhaustion has forced me to review where my energy is going each day and making savings where I can. My online presence has diminished, although I’m getting at least one blog post in a week but I’m trying to be more in the moment and not multitask as much. I’ve found myself feeling guilty for not nurturing my online community but have realised it’s not possible to do it all happily or effectively. Good for you and I hope you have an amazing summer. Xx

    • I wish I could do more, but it’s draining me:) If you have any tricks on getting our brains to slow down please share! Hope you have an amazing summer too.

  2. I know what you mean Lindsay – we’ve missed you though. I’ve found that I’ve had to step down from a couple of things that I really wanted to do, but just couldn’t find the time for – I was then beating myself up for not being able to commit properly, so had to stop.

    I’m really pleased to read about how good the good bits are though and I’m sitting here smiling as I look at my laundry basket too!

    Thanks for linking up to #WASO and sharing the great times xx

Leave a Reply

