Removed

This video on what it’s like to be in foster care as seen from a child’s perspective is making its way around social media. I waited a while before watching, but I’m glad I did.

I think it’s very well done and worth the share. For any foster parents, please let me know your thoughts; is it an accurate capture? does it simply explain the complexities of history?

As an adopter, and not a foster carer, I could see Jonathan easily in this video so I’m curious what all your thoughts are.

You can watch it on Vimeo here.
Or on YouTube here

 

5 thoughts on “Removed

  1. Very powerful. I thought the incident with the dress was very well done – so true to life – and also the little details with her belongings in the plastic bag and the doll. As a foster carer I feel a bit sensitive that it seemed to show that her foster carers also abused her – shame to add to that stereotype of abusive carers, although I know it must happen.

  2. I’ve been sharing this too. I sobbed my heart out watching it. The ages of the children really made me think of Katie and Pip. I think all adopters should see this and will be sharing it with our SW.

    • Good idea to share it among SW too. Needs to be incorporated into more training. Here, attachment and the effects of abuse and neglect was not talked about nearly enough.

Leave a Reply

