I have goals!

I don’t think I’ve ever made a new years resolution, and like I told the girl at the gym when I was buying my new gym pass last week “this isn’t a resolution, it’s just convenient timing”.

Just like it was convenient timing that Gord was asking me recently what goals I had for myself, as he accomplished a major one of his in 2012 by writing a book. I really couldn’t think of any for a minute. Completely blank. I knew at one point not so long ago I had goals, but it seemed like suddenly in that conversation I realized I had let them all go and they had disappeared.

I think what happened was that I’ve spent the last couple of years focused on not having kids, the process of adoption, reading adoption blogs, thinking, planning and thinking and thinking and thinking about adoption that my mind has blocked out, well, me.

So, now that we have Johnny Rocket and things are rolling along (January 4th was our 2 month anniversary! I cannot believe it’s only been 2 months), maybe it’s time to focus back on me, and the beginning of a new year is such a perfect time to think about goals and get excited about all the things there are to do and accomplish. This year; less thinking, more doing. It’s not that I do nothing; I parent, I cook, I clean, I play, I bake, I sew, I cook, I garden…apparently I work out at gym according to the card in my wallet…but I want to go big. I want to do those things (and more) with purpose and focus.

I want new and exciting.

I want challenge.

I want to do hard things.

I want goals.

Since my conversation with Gord I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about what I want to do, what do I want to accomplish in this short life. Big and small, a whole shwack of things I want to do in the next little while and in the future. It got me so excited that I woke up at 3 am that same night and couldn’t fall back asleep.The whole. rest. of. the. night.

I now have a list (of course I do) that include all kinds of things from going to a movie by myself to learning Spanish, go hunting, garden more and all kinds of other things big and small. Maybe I get to do them all or maybe just one or two, but more important than having a list of things I want to do, I feel excited! I feel refreshed and calm and more capable of coping with things instead of just going through the motions. I feel like I just woke up from a loooong nap.

You should try it. Big and small, tomorrow and 5 years from now – what do you want to get on with and get done? What do you want to learn? Where do you want to go? What do you want to look back on and be proud of? Really, when you start to put some thought into it the possibilities are endless and really exciting

2 thoughts on “I have goals!

  1. I admire you for getting to the gym…I have had the same goal for 2 years: enter a 5K. I tried doing the couch to 5K plan, but alas, i never finished. Maybe this is the year! Spanish sounds like a fun thing to try…good luck!

    • Oooh, I have tried that couch to 5k too, a few times, but I’ve come to realize that I hate running! If I can get a bit stronger (I’m kind of a wimp!) and a little healthier I’d be happy with that. This is the year – you can do it!!

Leave a Reply

