Tea

I decided that instead of sitting at Starbucks a couple times a week while Jonathan is in preschool (it’s far from our house so I have nowhere to go…on the other days I do productive things like grocery shop and visit my work that’s close by) I would join a gym.

So, before I go into Chai withdraw, I decided I would need to learn to make my own. It worked out really well and I’m on my second cup as I write this. All I did was google a couple different recipes and then improvised my own because of the ingredients I had. Other recipes used Cardamom and not all spice or nutmeg; real cinnamon sticks not ground; only milk no cream etc. So it could be possible to have it taste even more delicious depending on the the right combination. But I think I did pretty root-tuting good;)

383679_10151333866168249_2017836002_n

Here’s how I did it:

2C water
2 black tea bags (I used decaf red rose orange pekoe)
1/8 and 1/4 tsp of ground ginger
1/4 tsp of all spice
1/8 of nutmeg
1/4 heaping tsp of ground cinnamon
6 cloves - approx.(mine didn't smell super strong so I put a few 
extra in)
1/4 C of sugar (probably could have used slightly less)
2 C of milk
1/2 C of heavy cream

Boil the water and spices and tea bags for 5 minutes. Stir in sugar. Add in milk and cream and bring back to a boil while stirring so as not to burn. Watch out it boils over FAST. Strain over a cup to keep tea bags and cloves out and enjoy! This made about 4 regular sized tea cups worth…mmmm.

And now, I will go buy my membership…oh dear.

Leave a Reply

