Self

IMG_20121206_214844

I’m new to wordpress and trying to figure out the pictures/text formatting…please excuse the weirdness while I figure it out!

Besides, you know, the whole life-changing-adoption-thing we are doing, I’ve been trying to keep a little bit of me time doing the things I like to to do. The times I get to do them are shorter and I’m usually tired and would be rather sitting on the couch scrolling Pinterest for…well, anything really! But I think it’s important to maintain some kind of self these days.

So, I made some jam.

IMG_20121207_161923

In the summer, I pitted and froze what I thought was a lot of cherries. Turns out it was only enough for 5 small jars, but 5 delicious jars. Last time I made jam, which was my first time, it didn’t turn out so hot. This time, I took it as a personal challenge to do better. I really enjoy the process – all those steps and the whole procedure of making jam. One of the best parts was the amount of humidity the giant pots of boiling water produced. I was in heaven.

IMG_20121206_195412IMG_20121204_192528IMG_20121208_152731

I also made some cinnamon sugar almonds for little gifts for teachers, friends, neighbors…ourselves….after burning the first batch (do not turn your oven a simgin over what is listed in the recipe!) these also turned out delicious and were quick and easy:)

A week ago I took part in a little art/Christmas show that Gord’s work puts on every year I had  a few things made already and ‘whipped’ up a few more. Ha. It was a great success and I hope that maybe in the spring I can participate in another show.

Finally, I got started on my binding for this quilt <—Working on top of a play mat around trucks and trampolines was new for this gal. I now have it cut, just need to sew it together and then actually bind it. Maybe by the new year it will be finished!  I also have my big traveling quilt I’ve been making with my friend Christine in Australia to work on. I now have the backing and binding (I think…unless I change my mind…).

If anybody has tips on how to stay up to midnight to get things done I’d appreciate it.

I started Christmas baking too, just a few simple recipes this year, however I forgot to take any pictures. I know, the scandal. Next week is Gord’s birthday so there will be more baking – black forest cake to be had! I love this time of year!!!

2 thoughts on “Self

    • Thanks Heather! I bought most of the fabric for that quilt at http://www.fabricworm.com/. They are a great company and have good quality fabric for the same or cheaper than local quilt shops and they coordinate bundles for you. Good luck at getting your first quilt done!

Leave a Reply

